top of page
Search

Junior Aquathlon Race Report


I took part in the Westcroft Junior Aquathlon on the 17 of September. I competed in Tri Star 3 Youth category representing Westcroft Triathlon Club and came 1st in my age group. The race was very well organised and I’m looking forward to taking part in it again next year – it would be great to win again!

The actual race was great fun but pretty tiring. There was a long wait before I was due to start the swim section but thatallowed me to prepare myself and get in the zone. When I jumped into the pool the adrenaline hit me and I was ready to go. The 400 metre swim, for me personally, wasn’t too long and I found it quite enjoyable.

The run was a different story! Getting out the pool and going to transition was the best part of the race, it was nice and relaxed and there was no rush. Transition itself was also fine but I would have liked to have done it a bit quicker.

Over the bridge and the run began. The cold air was smashing against my wet body and I started getting cold. So I therefore started running very quickly to warm myself up and as a result I burned out a bit after just one lap. I still had five more to go!

The pain after four laps was terrible. I felt super sick and the only thing that got me through it was knowing I was almost done. The final two laps weren’t as bad as expected because my body and head had got used to it. When I crossed that finish line I was super glad. I couldn’t move for about 10 minutes but after that I felt fine.

It was a great experience and I’m very happy I did it!

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page